You are here

6th ETP SG General Assembly - Programme & Presentations


Opening Session

  9:30 Welcome, Nikos Hatziargyriou, ETP SG Chairman.

  9:50 Policy Keynote Speech, Marie Donnelly, European Commission, DG ENER, Directorate for Renewables, Research and Innovation, Energy Efficiency.

10:10 Keynote Speech, Pier Nabuurs, IIW CEO, former ETP SG Chair 2006-2009.

10:30- 11:00 Coffee Break

Session 1: The ETP Smartgrids: reflecting 10 years of success stories 

Moderator: Tahir Kapetanovic, Head of Austria Power Grid AG

11:00 Smartgrids in 2020, the ETP Smartgrids Vision back in 2007 (Video).

11:10  Exchange of views with key ETP Smartgrids members.

Panel with former and current ETP SG members/chairs to share their experience:

  • Joao Baptista, Executive Director General, ELECPOR, Portuguese Association of Electric Utilities
  • Nikos Hatziargyriou, CEO, HEDNO, ETP SG Chairman
  • Pier Nabuurs, CEO IIW, former ETP SG Chairman
  • Manuel Sanchez, Team Leader Smartgrids, DG ENER, European Commission
  • Jesús García, Business Manager, Iberdrola
  • Norberto Santiago, President, ZIV CG

12:00  Interactive Q&A session with the audience

12:30 -14:00 Networking Lunch

Session 2: Future Challenges of the Smart Grids

Moderator: Rainer Bacher, ETP Smartgrids Secretariat

14:00  ETP SG main highlights, Pieter Vingerhoets, ETP SmartGrids Secretariat.

14:10  The challenge of the digitalization of the grid, Maher Chebbo, ETP SG Energy digitalisation Task Force leader.

14:40  Asset management Challenge, Venizelos Efthymiou, ETP SG Working Group Network Operation and Assets Leader.

15:00  Grid Resilience in Transition, Goran Strbac, Security and Resilience Task Force Leader.

15:20  Interactive Q&A session with the audience.

15:40 -16:10 Coffee Break

Closing session

16:10  Panorama 2020 - towards the Utility of the future 

Moderator: Thierry Pollet, ETP SG Steering Committee member


  • Karim Asali, Technical Director Europe, First Solar
  • Agnes Belorgey-Demode, Vice-President, Transmission and Distribution Programs, EDF R&D
  • Fons Jansen, EDSO Policy and Technology Committee
  • Gert De Block, Secretary General CEDEC, European Federation of Local Energy Companies
  • Fernando García, Techonology Project Portfolio Manager, Gas Natural Fenosa
  • Frauke Thies, Executive Director, Smart Energy Demand Coalition
  • Konstantin Staschus, Secretary General ENTSO-E

16:55  Closing remarks: Introduction to the ETIP

  • Nikos Hatziargyriou, ETP SG Chairmain
  • Remy Denos, Policy Officer, DG ENER, European Commission

17:30 End



Download the Final Agenda, All Presentations and Pictures of the meeting.

Copyright © 2013 - SmartGrids - European Technology Platform. All rights reserved.

Cell phone tracking software download mobile